The Building Code of Australia

What is the BCA?

The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is Volumes One and Two of the National Construction Code (NCC). The BCA is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) on behalf of the Australian Government and State and Territory Governments. The BCA has been given the status of building regulation by all States and Territories.


The BCA Goal

The goal of the BCA is to enable the achievement of nationally consistent, minimum necessary standards of relevant safety (including structural safety and safety from fire), health, amenity and sustainability objectives efficiently.

This goal is applied so—

  • there is a rigorously tested rationale for the regulation;
  • the regulation generates benefits to society greater than the costs (that is, net benefits);
  • the competitive effects of the regulation have been considered and the regulation is no more restrictive than necessary in the public interest; and
  • there is no regulatory or non-regulatory alternative that would generate higher net benefits.

Proposals to change the BCA are subjected, as applicable, to a Regulatory Impact Assessment process.


What does the BCA cover?

The BCA contains technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures, covering such matters as structure, fire resistance, access and egress, services and equipment, and energy efficiency as well as certain aspects of health and amenity.

Updated: 29 July 2014