About the National Construction Code

What is the NCC

Refer below for an accessible version of this graphic.

The National Construction Code (NCC) provides the minimum necessary requirements for safety, health, amenity and sustainability in the design and construction of new buildings (and new building work in existing buildings) throughout Australia.

It is an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) developed to incorporate all on-site construction requirements into a single code. The NCC comprises the Building Code of Australia (BCA), Volume One and Two; and the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA), as Volume Three.

  • Volume One: pertains primarily to Class 2 to 9 buildings which are commercial, industrial and multi-residential buildings.
  • Volume Two: pertains primarily to Class 1 and 10 buildings which are houses, sheds and carports.
  • Volume Three: pertains primarily to plumbing and drainage associated with all classes of buildings.

To assist in interpreting the requirement of Volume One, the ABCB also publishes a non-mandatory Guide to Volume One. For Volumes Two and Three, clearly identified non-mandatory explanatory information boxes are included in the text to assist users.

All three volumes form part of a performance-based code and are drafted in a performance format allowing a choice of Deemed-to-Satisfy Provisions or flexibility to develop Alternative Solutions based on existing or new innovative building, plumbing and drainage products, systems and designs. To assist connecting the NCC Performance Requirements with the relevant Performance and Prescriptive Solutions available in the NCC, the ABCB has developed the document 'Developing a solution using the NCC'

Developing a solution using the NCC image

Developing a solution using the NCC

PDF file size: 404 KB

What is the NCC download image

What is the NCC Infographic

PDF file size: 661 KB

alternative text document download image

What is the NCC Infographic alternative text

Word file size: 16.1 KB

Jump to PFC submissions

To submit a proposal to change the NCC, click below.

Propose a change

Updated: 14 July 2015