

© Commonwealth of Australia and the States and Territories of Australia 2019, published by the Australian Building Codes Board.



The material in this publication is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivatives—4.0 International licence, with the exception of third party materials and any trade marks. It is provided for general information only and without warranties of any kind. You may not make derivatives of this publication, but may only use a verbatim copy. More information on this CC BY ND licence is set out at the Creative Commons Website. For information regarding this publication, see www.abcb.gov.au.

Release Date: Sep 2019 Last amended: Aug 2015 Version: VC00031.3 Developed from a map from the Bureau of Meteorology

Australia

Climate zone map

Table 1 NCC climate zones for thermal design: Australia

State or Territory	Location	Climate zone
Australian Capital Territory	Canberra	7
New South Wales	Albury	4
New South Wales	Armidale	7
New South Wales	Batemans Bay	6
New South Wales	Bathurst	7
New South Wales	Bega	6
New South Wales	Bellingen Shire – Dorrigo Plateau	7
New South Wales	Bellingen Shire – Valley & seaboard	2
New South Wales	Bourke	4
New South Wales	Broken Hill	4
New South Wales	Byron Bay	2
New South Wales	Cobar	4
New South Wales	Coffs Harbour	2
New South Wales	Dubbo	4
New South Wales	Goulburn	7
New South Wales	Grafton	2
New South Wales	Griffith	4

Version history

This version:

Last amended: Aug 2015 Release date: Sep 2019 Version: VC00031.3

Details of release: Table included for web content accessibility purposes (WCAG) and styling aligned with NCC 2019 branding.

Previous version: Last amended: Aug 2015 Version: VC00031.3

State or Territory	Location	Climate zone
New South Wales	Ivanhoe	4
New South Wales	Lismore	2
New South Wales	Lord Howe Island	2
New South Wales	Moree	4
New South Wales	Newcastle	5
New South Wales	Nowra	6
New South Wales	Orange	7
New South Wales	Perisher Smiggins	8
New South Wales	Port Macquarie	5
New South Wales	Sydney East	5
New South Wales	Sydney West	6
New South Wales	Tamworth	4
New South Wales	Thredbo	8
New South Wales	Wagga Wagga	4
New South Wales	Williamtown	5
New South Wales	Wollongong	5
New South Wales	Yass	6
Northern Territory	Alice Springs	3
Northern Territory	Darwin	1
Northern Territory	Elliot	3
Northern Territory	Katherine	1
Northern Territory	Renner Springs	3
Northern Territory	Tennant Creek	3
Queensland	Birdsville	3
Queensland	Brisbane	2

State or Territory	Location	Climate zone
Queensland	Bundaberg	2
Queensland	Cairns	1
Queensland	Cooktown	1
Queensland	Cunnamulla	3
Queensland	Gladstone	2
Queensland	Hervey Bay	2
Queensland	Hughenden	3
Queensland	Longreach	3
Queensland	Mackay	2
Queensland	Mount Isa	3
Queensland	Normanton	1
Queensland	Rockhampton	2
Queensland	Roma	3
Queensland	Southport	2
Queensland	Toowoomba	5
Queensland	Townsville	1
Queensland	Warwick	5
Queensland	Weipa	1
South Australia	Adelaide	5
South Australia	Bordertown	6
South Australia	Ceduna	5
South Australia	Cook	4
South Australia	Elliston	5
South Australia	Kingscote	6
South Australia	Leigh Creek	5

South Australia I	Lobethal Loxton Naracoorte Marree	6 5 6
South Australia I	Naracoorte	
		6
South Australia I	Marree	
	man oo	4
South Australia I	Mount Gambier	6
South Australia I	Murray Bridge	6
South Australia	Oodnadatta	4
South Australia I	Port Augusta	4
South Australia I	Port Lincoln	5
South Australia I	Renmark	5
South Australia	Tarcoola	4
South Australia	Victor Harbour	6
South Australia	Whyalla	4
Tasmania I	Burnie	7
Tasmania I	Bicheno	7
Tasmania I	Deloraine	7
Tasmania I	Devonport	7
Tasmania I	Flinders Island	7
Tasmania I	Hobart	7
Tasmania I	Huonville	7
Tasmania I	King Island	7
Tasmania I	Launceston	7
Tasmania I	New Norfolk	7
Tasmania	Oatlands	7
Tasmania	Orford	7

State or Territory	Location	Climate zone
Tasmania	Rossarden	7
Tasmania	Smithton	7
Tasmania	St Marys	7
Tasmania	Zeehan	7
Victoria	Anglesea	6
Victoria	Ararat	7
Victoria	Bairnsdale	6
Victoria	Ballarat	7
Victoria	Benalla	6
Victoria	Bendigo	6
Victoria	Bright	7
Victoria	Colac	6
Victoria	Dandenong	6
Victoria	Echuca	4
Victoria	Geelong	6
Victoria	Hamilton	7
Victoria	Horsham	6
Victoria	Melbourne	6
Victoria	Mildura	4
Victoria	Portland	6
Victoria	Sale	6
Victoria	Shepparton	4
Victoria	Swan Hill	4
Victoria	Traralgon	6
Victoria	Wangaratta	7

State or Territory	Location	Climate zone
Victoria	Warrnambool	6
Victoria	Wodonga	6
Western Australia	Albany	6
Western Australia	Balladonia	4
Western Australia	Broome	1
Western Australia	Bunbury	5
Western Australia	Carnarvon	3
Western Australia	Christmas Island	1
Western Australia	Cocos Island	1
Western Australia	Derby	1
Western Australia	Esperance	5
Western Australia	Exmouth	1
Western Australia	Geraldton	5
Western Australia	Halls Creek	3
Western Australia	Kalgoorlie-Boulder	4
Western Australia	Karratha	1
Western Australia	Meekatharra	4
Western Australia	Northam	4
Western Australia	Pemberton	6
Western Australia	Perth	5
Western Australia	Port Hedland	1
Western Australia	Wagin	4
Western Australia	Wyndham	1

For further information, refer to the National Construction Code (NCC) or the relevant State/Territory climate zone map available from the ABCB website (abcb.gov.au).